Sacred Heart Young Innovator Award (SHYIA - 2020)

With the vision statement, *Inspire...Innovate...Integrate*, the programme envisages scientific and research temper among arts and science graduates during the formative years of their undergraduate and postgraduate programmes to harness the transformative power of their innovative ideas and skills for the sustainable development of our Nation. Dr. Tessy Thomas, Missile Woman of India has given her foreword encouraging all the students across the country to actively participate in this competition so that the spirit of creativity and innovation is promoted amongst our youngsters.

Sacred Heart Young Innovator Award is a National Level competition organized by Sacred Heart College (Autonomous), Tirupattur for the Arts & Science College students. The students come up with creative and innovative ideas to use technology in solving societal problems and addressing grave issues in the areas of essentials for a dignified life. The IPR nodal center of our college will assist the students in patenting. The students will submit their ideas in the form of proposal by 8th February 2020 in the prescribed format through online submission (www.leapshct.org/shyia). The submitted projects will pass through a peer review process based on the scoring criteria of i) idea generation, ii) innovative approach, and iii) scalability and sustainability plan. All the participants must register through online with a fee of Rs. 150/- per student and there is no registration fee for guides/mentors. The selected project will be invited to showcase their project with demonstrated model during the event. The best three projects will be awarded with cash prizes of first prize Rs. 25,000/-, second prize Rs. 20,000/-, third prize Rs. 15,000/- and 10 consolation prizes Rs. 2,000/-. Further all the selected projects work will be published in a proceeding/book form with ISBN number. The display and awarding ceremony will be held on 28th February 2020 (National Science Day), at Sacred Heart College, Tirupattur.

The project (product/process) will be submitted under four divisions i) Physical and Chemical Sciences, ii) Arts, Languages and Social Sciences, iii) Life Sciences and iv) Computer and Mathematical Sciences. Dr. S. A. Martin Britto Dhas, Dr. K. Arokiaraj, Dr. I. Niyas Ahamed and Dr. D. Ajay will be contact persons for the same respectively. Rev. Dr. Theophil Anand is the convener ably assisted by the co-convener Dr. V. Collins Arun Prakash. We also have experts as advisory committee from across the country to assist and support us in this venture.



