REPORT

The Department of Chemistry, Madras Christian College, Chennai celebrated its 100 years of service to humanity through imparting chemical education on 12th and 13th of December 2019 through DST-SERB and CSIR sponsored "National Conference on Recent advances in Nanomaterials Chemistry for sustainable development". Padmashri. Dr. S. Sivaram, Former Director of National Chemical Laboratory, Pune and Dr. A. Ramanan, Professor, IIT Delhi, alumni of the Department of Chemistry delivered keynote addresses on 12th and 13th respectively. Dr. R.W. Alexander Jesudasan, the Principal of the college delivered the Presidential address and released the proceedings of the conference marking inauguration. Around 84 scientific papers including Colleges, Universities and IIT were presented by scholars from 25 institutions around Tamilnadu. Plenary lectures by eminent scholars including Dr. S. Sundar Manoharan, Vice Chancellor, Sathyabhama Institute of Science and Technology, Chennai, Dr. P. Selvam, Professor, IIT Madras, Dr. V. Subramanian, Chief Scientist, CSIR-CLRI, Chennai, Dr. John Philip, Head, CSTD & SMARTS, IGCAR, Kalpakkam, and Dr. S. Aravumudhan, Emeritus Professor, NEHU, Shillong were delivered. This conference was financially supported by DST-SERB, CSIR, Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), American Chemical Society (ACS), Tamilnadu State Council for Science and Technology (TNSCST), Tamilnadu Science and Technology Centre (TNSTC), Indian Science Congress Association (ISCA), Association of Chemistry Teachers (ACT) and various industries. The conference witnessed the former faculty of the department of Chemistry being felicitated by the present faculty members of the department as a memorable occasion. The American Chemical Society sponsored various Oral and Poster prizes marking the celebration of centenary. Best oral and paper presentations were awarded cash prizes along with the free one year membership by ACS. The Controller of Examinations, University of Madras Dr. K. Pandian and Dr. R. Brakaspathy, Former secretary of DST-SERB graced the valedictory event with their presence. Dr. Paul Wilson, Convener of the conference and Head of the Department of Chemistry and Mrs. Nimmy Edwin, Dr. C. Amirthavalli (Organizing secretaries), Dr. D. Reuben Jonathan, Dr. E. Rajkumar (Joint Organizing secretaries) accompanied by a band of faculty (Organizing committee) from the Department of Chemistry conceived and executed the celebration successfully thus commemorating the legacy of the department.

